MEMORANDUM

DATE: April 27, 2010

TO: Council Members

FROM: Amber McClellan

Council Staff Assistant

SUBJECT: Capital Development and Community Improvement Programs

Advisory Board

BOARD STRUCTURE:

The Capital Development and Community Improvement Programs Advisory Board (CDCIP) prioritizes and makes funding recommendations to the Mayor's Office and City Council regarding the federal funding the City receives from the Department of Housing and Urban Development - Community Development Block Grants, and Emergency Shelter Grant, and City's general fund Capital Improvement Program. Most of the City's capital improvement requests, ranging from sidewalk repairs to entire buildings, are reviewed by this board. The Board also plays a key role in communicating, listening, and directing community council and neighborhood requests for infrastructure.

The Board is comprised of nine to eleven members appointed by the Mayor, with the advice and consent of the Salt Lake City Council, to a three year term. Each member must be a resident of Salt Lake City. The board also requires at least one member is appointed from each council district. Priority is also given to include representation of all income levels, ethnic diversity, persons with disabilities, community advocates and business and commercial interests.

Council policy states that individuals should be appointed to only two consecutive terms or eight years, whichever is greater.

CURRENT COMPOSITION:

Joana "Joey" Behrens, District One Megan Rogers, District One Robert "Toby" Alires, District Two Barbara J. Riley, District Two John Pace, District Three Eric Waters, District Three Michael Bettin, District Four Julia A. Robertson, District Four James E. Schwing, District Six (Chair)

cc: Frank Gray, Mary De La Mare Schaefer, LuAnn Clark, Jan Davis, Cindy Gust-Jenson, David Everitt, Holly Hilton, Mayors Liaisons, and City Council Liaisons