MEMORANDUM

DATE: April 20, 2010

TO: Council Members

FROM: Amber McClellan

Council Staff Assistant

SUBJECT: Mosquito Abatement District

BOARD STRUCTURE:

The Salt Lake City Mosquito Abatement District (SLCMAD) is a Special Service District with its own mission, bylaws, taxing status, and governing authority. Because its boundaries closely mirror Salt Lake City, its members are appointed by the Mayor and City Council. The Board is responsible for overseeing the districts' budget, mission, and daily activities. The District has broad powers to act expediently to meet the emergency needs of rapid mosquito development and avoidance of public health and nuisance hazards. The SLCMAD may take all necessary and proper steps for the extermination of mosquitoes, flies, crickets, grasshoppers and other insects and to abate as nuisances all stagnant pools of water or other breeding places.

The Board is comprised of five members that must be Salt Lake City Residents. Each member is appointed by the Mayor, with the advice and consent of the Salt Lake City Council, to a four year term.

Council policy states that individuals should be appointed to only two consecutive terms or eight years, whichever is greater.

CURRENT COMPOSITION:

Todd Erskine, District One Raymond Uno, District Three (Chair) La Vone Liddle, District Six Gayle E. Thomas, District Six Dagmar Vitek, District Six

cc: Sam Dickson, Cindy Gust-Jenson, David Everitt, Bianca Shreeve, Holly Hilton, Mayors Liaisons, and City Council Liaisons